HomeNews › Helmut Schreiner wins Lifetime Achievement Award
Member news

Helmut Schreiner wins Lifetime Achievement Award

A panel of label industry experts has reviewed the nominations for the 2011 Label Industry Global Awards and is pleased to announce the winner of the R. Stanton Avery Lifetime Achievement Award as Helmut Schreiner, Executive Manager and Owner of the Schreiner Group (download photo here). The judging panel convened during the recent FINAT Congress in Sicily and selected Schreiner from a number of high-calibre nominations. The award is sponsored by Avery Dennison.

The Schreiner Group is a global provider of functional labels with a turnover of €110m and more than 720 employees from his factories in Europe and the USA. Under Helmut Schreiner’s charismatic leadership the group has become a world-leading innovator within the label industry, developing new technologies and applications in areas that include electro-luminescent labels, printronics, RFID and anti-counterfeit technologies.

The judging panel felt that his inexhaustible passion for his company, his pioneering innovation, his input into industry associations, and into the training and development of his employees, made him an outstanding nomination and worthy winner in 2011.

During the same meeting, the judges also selected the winners of the three other awards, who will be announced at the award ceremony and gala dinner during the first evening (28 September) of Labelexpo Europe 2011.

The number of entries for the Label Industry Global Awards was the highest in its seven-year history, confirming their status as the highest accolades in the label industry.

The 2011 finalists are:

Label Industry Award for New Innovation
(in alphabetical order)

  • Color-Logic
  • Durst
  • EskoArtwork
  • Nilpeter
  • Pantec
  • Primera
  • Roland DG

Label Industry Award for Continuous Innovation - sponsored by Labels & Labeling, NarroWebTech and Label & Narrow Web
(in alphabetical order)

  • Flexcon
  • Mark Andy
  • Martin Automatic
  • MPS
  • Novelprint
  • Prati
  • Tailored Solutions
European Converter of the Year Award - sponsored by Flint Group Narrow Web
A shortlist will not be published for this award, but the winner will be announced at the same time as the other awards.

Judges for this year’s awards, under the chairmanship of Mike Fairley were Andrea Vimercati, President of FINAT, Art Yerecic, Chairman of the Board, TLMI, Andy Thomas, Editor of Labels & Labeling, Tony White, Editor of NarroWebTech, Jack Kenny, Editor of Label & Narrow Web and John Penhallow, Label Consultant.